Board Members


Michi Garrison has over 30 years of experience in the medical device industry.  She is named inventor or co-inventor on over 50 US patents and has led teams to develop ground-breaking new products and procedures.   Michi is currently VP of R&D at Intervene, a start-up medical device company in the venous disease space.  She was most recently co-founder and VP of R&D at Silk Road Medical and has also held executive R&D positions at Heartport and CardioVasc.  


Since 1998, Mr. Gifford has been a Managing Member of The Foundry, LLC. The Foundry has created Evalve (acquired by Abbott Labs), Concentric Medical (acquired by Stryker), Emphasys Medical, First to File, Satiety, Xtent, Cierra Medical, Ardian (acquired by Medtronic), Cabochon (acquired by Ulthera/Merz), Miramar Labs, Twelve, Holaira, Cotera, and Fire1. Mr. Gifford is also a founder of ForSight Labs, an ophthalmic device incubator which has started six companies. Prior to The Foundry, Mr. Gifford was VP of Research and Development at Heartport, Inc. Mr. Gifford is an inventor on over 225 issued U.S. patents. He has a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Cornell University. 


Amy E. Herr, Ph.D., is the Lester John & Lynne Dewar Lloyd Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering at the University of California, Berkeley. Amy holds a Ph.D. and M.S. in mechanical engineering from Stanford University and a B.S. in engineering and applied science from the California Institute of Technology. Amy’s research centers on design and fabrication of microanalytical tools with application to unmet needs in the life sciences (single-cell proteomics) and biomedicine (protein biomarkers and diagnostics).


Prior to joining QB3 in 2004, Regis Kelly served as executive vice-chancellor at UCSF, where he oversaw the UCSF research enterprise and the construction of the new Mission Bay campus. Regis is currently also the special advisor on innovation and entrepreneurship to University of California President, Janet Napolitano. He was chairman of the Bay Area Scientific Innovation Consortium and has served on numerous advisory boards for pharmaceutical and biotech companies. Regis earned an undergraduate degree in physics from the University of Edinburgh and a Ph.D. in biophysics from the California Institute of Technology.


Dr. Lim is a neurosurgeon and principal investigator of a neural stem cell research laboratory at UCSF. As the Director of Restorative Neurosurgery, he leads a multidisciplinary team in the development of devices that solve critical bottlenecks to the translation of basic science research into clinical cures for diseases of the brain. Most recently, he and his team invented a novel device that solves common but critical problems with the neurosurgical delivery of therapeutics. Dr. Lim serves on the Scientific Advisory Board of Accurexa, Inc. In 2009, he received the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award and was selected to be a Kavli Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.


Dr. Kumar Malavalli co-founded Brocade Communications and InMage Systems and lead them to successful exits. He is currently Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer for Glassbeam, Inc.  He is the co-author of Fibre Channel, an evolutionary technology that enabled the development of a multi-billion dollar industry based on storage area networks (SANs). Kumar has endowed a chair in Storage Technology at UC Santa Cruz. Kumar co-founded and serves as a trustee of the Indus International Schools in India. In 2003, Kumar was inducted into the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame. He is passionate about supporting STEM education and the arts.

Juan-Pablo Mas

Juan-Pablo is a partner at Action Potential Venture Capital and invests in companies that are pioneering bioelectronic medicines. Juan-Pablo is a Board member of Saluda MedicalSetPoint MedicalNeuspera MedicalCala Health, and CVRx. He was previously an investor at Morgenthaler Ventures and Lightstone Ventures, where he focused on therapeutic medical devices, digital health, and biopharmaceutical investments. There he served as a Board observer at Ardian (acquired by Medtronic), Twelve (acquired by Medtronic), HolairaCabochon Aesthetics (acquired by Ulthera/Merz), and Miramar Labs. Prior to investing, Juan-Pablo led efforts in R&D and Strategy in Medtronic’s CardioVascular Division, including Pipeline Strategy, White-Space expansion, Business Development, and M&A integration efforts. Subsequently, he served on the Global Brand Strategy team at Eli Lilly within the Cardiovascular business. Juan-Pablo earned an MBA from Stanford Graduate School of Business. He also conducted research in Neuroscience, and in the Neurology Department at Stanford Hospital, while completing an M.S. in Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. He received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.


J. Casey McGlynn, partner at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, formed the Life Sciences Group at the firm in 1990. He has one of the largest practices in the country focused on medical devices. Mr. McGlynn was a founding member of BIO and served on the Emerging Company Board of BIO for over a decade. He currently serves on the Medical Device Manufacturers Association, a Washington trade organization focused on issues of importance to the biomedical industry. Mr. McGlynn is also a founder and director of Life Science Angels. Since 2005, LSA has invested over $30 million in 40 life science companies that have received an additional $600 million of follow-on funding from venture investors.


Ned Scheetz is the General Partner and founder of Aphelion Capital. For over two decades, Mr. Scheetz has been an investor in numerous public and private healthcare companies.  Mr. Scheetz was a Partner and Managing Director with Piper Jaffray Ventures and a Senior Analyst with Janus Capital. Mr. Scheetz is an advisory board member with the Center for Medical Device Innovation, and on the business advisory board of The Epilepsy Therapy Development Project.  A graduate of Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business, Colby College, and a post-graduate scholar at Oxford University, Mr. Scheetz also holds the CFA designation.